Reboot – The Upshot of All This

Let food be thy medicine. 

–Hippocrates

I could go on talking about my Juice/Reboot fast, which isn’t really a fast at all at this point, but that’s not exactly what you’re looking for in a Cats TCM Blog, is it? Admit it. You’re over this topic. That’s ok. I can understand that. I would, however, like to take a moment and tell you what I’ve learned from all of this.

The short version is this: if the world ate like this you and I would be treating a vastly different set of problems in our patients. In eight short days I have seen a world of difference in my own body. One of the biggest surprises is that my stress is much lower and my anxiety levels went from a 7/10 to a very manageable 2/10. My memory and concentration have improved greatly. I have far more energy too. Before I started this Reboot my energy levels hovered between 3-5/10. Now I feel more like a 7-8/10. Sleep is easier and more restful. I haven’t had an energy drop in the afternoons during this whole 8 day change. My cravings for carbs and fats have dropped to a 1/10, which I can manage pretty well. Digestion is pretty good, but still needs some work. And I’ve actually discovered that I don’t loathe a lot of vegetables I thought I couldn’t tolerate.  I actually even like a few, like fresh spinach, which has a nutty taste. Who knew?! (But not broccoli…that’s still disgusting.)

I know the conventional wisdom says it takes more than 8 days to change your life, but I’ve started down a path on which I want to continue. I’ll check in about this from time to time, but for now we’ll move on.

Engage in self-care, peeps!

Cat

4 Comments

Filed under Self-care

4 responses to “Reboot – The Upshot of All This

  1. Valerie

    I am certainly not tired of hearing about your fast! I’ve really loved all your posts and feel super inspired by your actions and reflections. Thanks for being brave and sharing with us!

    • You’re welcome! I’ve been inspiring myself by reading the Engine 2 Diet and The China Study. I’m continuing with a daily juice or two (carrot, apple, beet and ginger this morning) plus the plant strong way of eating found in the Engine 2 book as a framework. I say ‘framework’ because I don’t do well with a slavish adherence to anything ever. The architect of the Engine 2 plan says to stay away from processed foods, yet says you can eat Boca burgers, tofu dogs, Gardein ‘not’ meats, etc. I consider those to be highly processed so I will avoid them.

      I understand more and more that most of what is wrong with our patients is probably the result of the traditional American diet. Getting patients on board will take artful skill I hope I possess!

  2. Jen

    I am so very tempted to try a juice fast but I am too afraid that I will growl and snarl a lot. I might be able to if, and only if, it turns out that I can call coffee “coffee bean juice”. Yes? No? ;)

    • :) Wouldn’t be optimal, but it’d still be good. I will tell you that after day 1 I didn’t need the coffee boost. As a matter of fact I had an awful lot of energy and didn’t need coffee at all. As a matter of fact, I think I would have crawled out of my own skin if I’d had any more energy. I didn’t even need as much sleep. Make it a long weekend kind of fast, or start by juicing in the morning and at lunch then eat a light dinner at night. There are lots of ways to make this work and you still get great benefits from juicing even if you don’t do a juice fast because you still get the huge nutrient boost. I still juice daily, but eat also. I’m not a breakfast person, so juicing in the morning is perfect for me.

Leave a Reply

